Groups

A powerful feature of Ability Mail Server is that every user is allocated to a group. Each group has the power to control all the associated users in almost any way. This includes control over what services a user has access to and certain account options.

<Default> Group

This is a special group which cannot be renamed or deleted. If a user is loaded from file or a database and is not part of an existing group, that user will be moved to the '<Default>' group. This ensures that users are always part of a group.

Groups

  • Groups - This displays a list of all the currently created groups.

Add / Edit Group

  • Enable Users - If enabled, all the associated users will remain as normal. If disabled, all associated users will be disabled.
  • Group Name - This is the name of the group.
  • Max Mail Size - If enabled, all associated users will be limited to a mail size of the value given in this option. If this value exceeds the general 'Max Mail Size', it will be capped to the same value. If disabled the general 'Max Mail Size' will be used.
  • Send Failure To Sender When Mail Too Large - If enabled, any incoming mail to the account which is too large will result in a failure mail being sent back to the sender.
  • Max Account Size - If enabled, all associated users will be limited to an account size of the value given in this option. If this value exceeds the general 'Max Account Size', it will be capped to the same value. If disabled the general 'Max Account Size' will be used.
  • Send Failure To Sender When Account Full - If enabled, any incoming mail which cannot be delivered due to the account being full will result in a failure mail being sent back to the sender.
  • Max Address Book Entries - This controls the maximum number of address book entries that WebMail users can create.
  • Max POP3 Retrievals - This controls the maximum number of POP3 retrievals that WebMail users can create.
  • Max Block-List Entries - This controls the maximum number of block list entries that WebMail users can create.
  • Max Custom Filters - This controls the maximum number of custom filters that WebMail users can create.
  • Max Redirections - This controls the maximum number of redirections each user can create.
  • Max Mails Sent Per Day - When a user sends mail using WebMail or SMTP (with SMTP Authentication login details provided), this option allows you to set a maximum limit on the number of mails that they are allowed to send per day.
  • Max Mails Sent Per Day (KB) - When a user sends mail using WebMail or SMTP (with SMTP Authentication login details provided), this option allows you to set a maximum limit on the amount of mail data they are allowed to send per day.
  • Only Allow Secure Login - If enabled, all associated users are only allowed access when they log in with a secure login mechanism (either SSL or SASL). This ensures that any mail client which has not been configured securely will be prevented access (forcing a change in configuration). This is useful for organizations or companies which are concerned about mail security.

Add / Edit Group - Access Rights

  • Allow Mail To Be Received - If enabled, all associated users will be able to receive mails into their accounts.
  • Allow SMTP Authentication Access - If enabled and the SMTP is configured correctly, all associated users will be able to use their login details to log into the SMTP. This is useful for restricting which accounts are permitted relaying access.
  • Allow POP3 Access - If enabled, all associated users will be able to access their mail through the POP3 service.
  • Allow IMAP4 Access - If enabled, all associated users will be able to access their account through the IMAP4 service.
  • Allow Auto-Responses - If enabled, any associated user's Auto-Response which is enabled will be activated.
  • Allow WebMail Access - If enabled, all associated users will be able to access their account through the WebMail service.
  • Allow WebMail to Send to External Addresses - If enabled, all associated users will be able to compose and send emails to external email addresses. If disabled, emails can only be sent to local email addresses.
  • Allow WebMail to Edit Address Books - If enabled, all associated users will be able to edit their address books through WebMail.
  • Allow WebMail to Edit POP3 Retrievals - If enabled, all associated users will be able to edit their POP3 Retrievals through WebMail.
  • Allow WebMail to Edit Auto-Responses - If enabled, all associated users will be able to edit their Auto-Response through WebMail.
  • Allow WebMail to Edit Filters - If enabled, all associated users will be able to edit their filter options through WebMail.
  • Allow WebMail to Edit Passwords - If enabled, all associated users will be able to change their password through WebMail.
  • Allow WebMail to Edit From Header - If enabled, all associated users will be able to change the 'From' address field in newly composed mails. Please note that this option is only recommended for trusted users, as this option can allow those users to fake their identity.
  • Allow WebMail to Edit Redirection - If enabled, all associated users will be able to edit their redirection options through WebMail.
  • Allow WebMail to Edit File Store - If enabled, all associated users will be able to upload, download and delete files within their file store through WebMail.
  • Enable Individual Account Logs - If enabled, all associated users will generate log files, logging all account activity.
  • POP3 Logins - If enabled, all associated users will trigger their POP3 Retrievals (if any) when they log into the POP3 service.
  • IMAP4 Logins - If enabled, all associated users will trigger their POP3 Retrievals (if any) when they log into the IMAP4 service.
  • WebMail Logins - If enabled, all associated users will trigger their POP3 Retrievals (if any) when they log into the WebMail service.
  • Allow WebMail Manual Triggering - If enabled, all associated users will be allowed to manually trigger POP3 retrievals (if any) through WebMail.

Add / Edit Group - Presets

  • On Creation - If enabled, all new accounts created in this group will automatically have these folders created. These folders can be deleted or renamed if the user desires.
  • Permanent - If enabled, all associated users will automatically have these folders created. These folders cannot be deleted or renamed and will remain permanent until this group option is disabled.
  • Use Shared Address Books - This option allows you to add virtual shared address book entries to the WebMail address book. When a user accesses their address book through WebMail, they will see their normal address book entries merged with these shared address book entries. If a user has an address book entry with the same common/nick name as a shared address book entry, their address book entry will hide the shared address book entry. This is useful for organizations which require sharing of important contact information.

See Also: Using Groups, Users.